clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

NHL announces Calder trophy finalists

Apparently you can spell Calder without Cal.


In a season where rookies excelled, culling the field for the Calder Trophy to three finalists was tough business. But when the votes from the Professional Hockey Writers' Association were counted Columbus Blue Jackets goalie Steve Mason, Anaheim Ducks forward Bobby Ryan and Chicago Blackhawks forward Kris Versteeg emerged.

Mason, Ryan and Versteeg each overcame earlier disappointments to prove their merits in the NHL. Ryan and Mason started the season in the minors. Mason was buried four years ago by a Junior B coach, but switched teams and continued his progression. An impatient Ryan returned two more seasons to juniors after being drafted second overall in 2005, while Versteeg was traded from his drafting club for -- the ultimate putdown -- a career minor leaguer. - from

Well, that's not surprising, but it still kinda stings a bit. Clearly it's not the first time Cal, or Minnesota Wild team members, will be left off the NHL awards list. Talk to me when the Selke and Vezina finalists are announced. We'll have something to talk about then.

In the mean time, this is nothing other than the end of a fantastic community building. Thanks to Ms. Conduct for getting this campaign underway. Thanks to Buddha for energizing the locals. Thanks to Cal for making us believe in you!