clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Surprise! Ryan Suter doesn't win the Norris

Raise your hand if you are actually surprised.


To the surprise of absolutely no one after the award winners leaked earlier this week, Ryan Suter did not win the Norris tonight.

We wrote about it earlier this week, so feel free to go re-read that piece here. In all fairness, it was written to discuss the fact calling the Norris a trophy for the best defenseman is a joke, as it actually goes to the best offensive defenseman.

Anyway, the award goes to P.K. Subban. Good for you, guy who scored most of his points on the PP and played sheltered minutes. Good for you.

Suter lost by only 36 points. You can view the totals here. Suter received one less 1st place vote than Subban.

One positive thing to take away from the "awards" this year is that our very own rookie phenom came in 4th in the Calder Trophy race. While Jonas Brodin should have at the very least been nominated, we can take pride in the fact that not only was he the highest ranked rookie defenseman, but he also finished a full 100 points ahead of Nail Yakupov who was in 5th place. You can see the full Calder totals here.

Don't worry Wild fans. I have a feeling that the next few years are going to bring lots of celebration surrounding our team. Either that, or we'll burn down the Twin Cities Vancouver style.