clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Gameday Thread: Wild vs. Coyotes (7 p.m.)

Wild welcome desert dogs for the first time in 2021

Minnesota Wild v Arizona Coyotes Photo by Norm Hall/NHLI via Getty Images

We’re comin’ back for more

You know why we’re comin’ for you


‘Cause once we rock, we won’t wanna stop

Not today or tomorrow

— “Coyotes”, Jason Mraz

After sweeping Vegas in their two-game home series, the Minnesota Wild have reaffirmed their status as Western Conference contenders as they welcome the Arizona Coyotes for three games starting tonight at the Xcel Energy Center.

@FromTapeToTape had the good stuff in this morning’s game preview, but the CliffsNotes(tm) is that Ryan Hartman and Marcus Johansson are both back, though only Hartman will take the ice tonight centering the third line between Zach Parise and Kevin Fiala. Nick Bjugstad gets bumped from third line center to fourth line wing.

Cam Talbot will get the start tonight for the Wild, though rookie sensation Kaapo Kahkonen will see at least one of the three starts in the series.

The Coyotes lines will remain the same as usual, though Yotes coach Rick Tocchet was evasive with the media this morning, refusing to tip his hand as to whether he’d be going with Antti Raanta or Adin Hill in net as Darcy Kuemper will miss the entire Wild series with a lower-body injury that is expected to keep him out for an extended period.

It’s been good news today for hockey in Minnesota with announcements regarding fans in the stands at the X and renewed plans for the Winter Classic in 2022. Can the Wild put the icing on the cake by taking care of the Coyotes?

Welcome to the gamethread, Wilderness! Sound off below!

Minnesota Wild vs. Arizona Coyotes

When: 7:00 p.m. CT

Where: Xcel Energy Center

TV: Fox Sports North

Radio: KFAN 100.3 FM

Projected Lines

Arizona Coyotes

Keller - Dvorak - Pitlick

Crouse - Schmaltz - Garland

Brassard - Larsson - Kessel

Caggiula - Chaput - Fischer

Chychrun - Goligoski

Ekman-Larson - Demers

Oesterle - Hjalmarsson



Minnesota Wild

Kaprizov - Rask - Zuccarello

Greenway - Eriksson Ek - Foligno

Parise - Hartman - Fiala

Sturm - Bonino - Bjugstad

Suter - Spurgeon

Brodin - Dumba

Cole - Soucy